Photoshop Actions/Finding your style

I’m a random thinker and I as I was driving home from dropping off the kids to school, my mind wandered all over the place thinking of what to say in my next post. My best friend and I, Jen Weaver (http://www.jenweaverphotography.blogspot.com/), have talked about wanting our photography to look like some of the pros that we’ve seen on the Internet. We’ve talked about how they acheive the look that they have. I will post some links to our favorites later. We wonder if it’s their lighting, their gear…. we’re not sure. I understand that photographers tightly guard their processes, and they should; they’ve had to learn the lessons of photography through trial and error just like the rest of us are. I respect that immensly. Here’s where my pondering takes a turn. I believe that all aspiring photographers need to learn the basics: composition, aperature, shutter speed etc….and I believe that I have. I have photographers, while maybe not “pro”, I try to emmulate. But here is where the line can be drawn for me, in emmulating someone else’s work, do I lose myself trying to copy what they do? Yes, I do. While there are rules of photography, photography is an art form. Every artist has a vision and they need to stay true to their own personal vision. So, while I learn from other photographers, I believe that it is okay to stray from the “normal” rules of photography to carve out your own little niches. Something that makes you stand out from the others. For me, I have to stay true to my heart and follow God and my heart when making photographs. Especially in portraits. It has been said to me time and time again that my niche is in still life. I have to agree, still life is so much easier for me. I can take my time and there are no distractions. My passion though is in portraits. I want so desparately to capture the essence of the moment, to capture people as they are in everyday life. For people to be able to look at their photographs years down the road and say, “yeah, that was (fill in the blank) to a tee. His/Her personality really shows through in this one.”

So, here are some photographs that I took and did some post processing on them. I hope you enjoy these as they are done from the heart.

Lord of the Rings Return of the King with edge burner

edge burner

edge burner black and white

Lord of the Rings Return of the King

Lord of the Rings Return of the King with edge burner and hot fudgier

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Weaver Photography
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 21:46:00

    Awww, I love what you wrote here. You know that I feel the same exact way about our “craft.” And as long as you know that it’s our own art and the way we want to express ourselves – you’re ahead of the game artistically! We know what works for us & what looks good to us in our own hearts. 🙂

    The photos you posted of E. are so cute…I love seeing children in their own curious, inquisitive world and how innocent life is at that age.

    Also, thanks for the shout out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

