Bye-Bye Birdie

This weekend, my oldest niece was in a play called, “Bye-Bye Birdie.” I’ve never went to any high school productions, and I thought this play was put together very well. I was personally excited because, 1. I would get to see my niece act and 2. I would get the chance to put my tripod and camera to the test. I knew the tripod was going to allow me to get some really good pictures. There isnt’ any camera shake in these pictures. I was able to set my camera’s ISO to 1600 and not use any flash whatsoever. I really feel they came out well. I did have to run the photographs through noise ninja to get rid some of the noise, but, I still like the results.

I googled the play to see if I could include any information in here about it. Here is what I found.

***

Synopsis

Agent and songwriter Albert Peterson finds himself in trouble when hip-thrusting rock and roll superstar Conrad Birdie, from Allentown, Pennsylvania, is drafted into the army. Albert’s secretary and sweetheart Rose Alvarez comes up with a last-ditch publicity stunt to premiere one last hit Conrad Birdie record before he is sent to the army. She makes Albert promise to give up the music business and become an English teacher. They plan to have Conrad sing Albert’s new song “One Last Kiss” and give one lucky girl from his fan club a real “one last kiss” on The Ed Sullivan Show before heading off to basic training.
The lucky girl chosen randomly from Conrad’s national fan club is Kim MacAfee from Sweet Apple, Ohio. Conrad, Albert and Rosie set off to her house to prepare for the event. However, things do not go quite as planned. Kim’s father becomes obsessed with the prospect of being on The Ed Sullivan Show alongside his daughter, Kim’s boyfriend becomes disastrously jealous of Conrad, Albert’s mother comes to break up Albert’s relationship with Rosie, and Conrad himself becomes tired of show business and tries to teach the kids how to party, ultimately getting himself in trouble with their parents and the police.

***

To see more about this play, click here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bye_Bye_Birdie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Weaver Photography
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 19:34:00

    These came out so well! I’m so happy for you and that new camera!

    My close friend was in bye bye birdie back in highschool…i went to see it…and this gave me fond memories of her in the show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

