Texture lover

I’m finding that I really love what can be done with textures. In the photographs below, it really saved the photograph. The picture of E. itself was good, but the background was distracting and blown out. At this time, what I use for backdrops are fabrics. Fabrics can be great, but a pain when there are wrinkles and three year olds are hard on fabric. What I did with the texture, (which I found on Flickr), was paste it onto my photograph, decreased the opacity of the textured layer and then erased the part of my subject. It does get a little tricky when you get to the edges of the subject. For that, I reduced the hardness and the opacity of my eraser and carefully went over the edges of E. until I got my desired result. I’m pretty satisfied with how they came out. I have never left the textured layer be at 100% opacity though. It just didn’t seem to look right that way, so I left the opacity low enough that it looks as if it is part of my background. I also used an action on her eyes that I am totally in love with. I got it from MCP Actions and here is the link. http://www.mcpactions.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Weaver Photography
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 01:17:00

    She is just full of spunk that lil cutie!

    what a great job you did on these!

    you’ll have to share the texture pages you found w/ me if they aren different from the ones mark shared.

    love em

  2. Anonymous
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 13:23:00

    GREAT JOB 🙂
    Bravo:P

Leave a Reply

