Using fill flash

B. wanted me to take her pictures today. I wasn’t feeling the best, but who am I to pass on a portrait session, right? It’s more practice. So, it was a very overcast day and I thought I would try using my on board flash to practice lifting the shadows from her eyes. I wanted to diffuse the flash though so it wouldn’t be so harsh, so out came my t. paper. Yes, I used toilet paper to diffuse my flash. Hey, whatever works, right? I did find that I had to adjust the strength of the flash a bit. All in all I think they came out pretty good.

I used Pioneer woman’s free action, boost, on these.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Weaver Photography
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 03:43:00

    They came out really good Julie. I like the woodsy setting. These are the ‘serious’ mood shots although I did see one smile on your website from this shoot. 🙂

    I had to go to your site to see them larger because when I click on them on the blog they don’t seem to enlarge. The fill flash worked well for the shadows – do u like the results you go compared to not using it?

  2. Melissa Cockman Photography
    Jul 17, 2008 @ 00:19:00

    Hello! I stumbled upon your blog via google! You do wonderful photography! May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

