A little about the T.P. post

I got a very nice surprise when I found out that I was featured on Point…Click…Shoot’s blog (http://pointclickshoot.blogspot.com/). He seemed to like my high class diffuser. 😮 p

So, I thought I would post some examples of pics from the same night, without flash, with flash no diffuser and with the diffuser. I have noticed in my pics that even when I have them in the sunlight, their eyes are usually dark. I hate that because I love when the eyes sparkle. I don’t currently have an external flash or diffuser, so I improvised. I don’t like what the on-board flash does to the subjects. I have heard of using velum paper or gift wrapping tissue before to diffuse the light. I’m sure they will do the same thing as toilet paper. I just used whatever I had on hand, and it worked. I believe that as long as it doesn’t hurt your camera, you, or your subjects, why not try something totally wierd. I’m not sure I would recommend using the toilet paper on a paid shoot though…lol that might look a little tacky, don’t you think?

I should be able to purchase my sb800 with a real diffuser soon, but until then………I might just use the old reliable toilet paper.

No flash

No flash, but noticed the eyes

Flash stepped down -1.0 or -2.0 (note the eyes and features when t.p. diffuser is used)

Same diffuser used, flash may have been more on the normal intensity. I really just played around with different settings until I got the desired results. If you notice, her face does have a more flashed look. I think experimenting is the key to learning your camera. Having willing subjects if very helpful, so if you are interested in having your photos taken, I am available to do them. LOL, Seriously! ;o)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Weaver Photography
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 15:08:00

    You’re so ingenious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

