Why does custom photography cost more

I can’t take credit for this post. I found this link on the sidebar on fellow blogger, Melissa Cockman Photography. She hails from North Carolina and her blog can be seen here: http://benmelissacockman.blogspot.com/

I’m glad that I stumbled across this article tonight. My friend Jen and I was talking last night about how I seriously undercharge people when I do a session. I don’t know if it’s a point of not feeling qualified enough…..I’m not sure what it is. My whole desire in photography is to have fun taking pictures all the while capturing people and their memories and personalities. I know that God has a purpose in all this. I know that I would eventually like to go on a mission trip to photograph the experience. In the meantime though, I want my images to be a blessing to my clients. I also want to be affordable.

Okay, enough babbling to the world. Thanks Melissa for that awesome link. It helped to bring what my friend Jen said last night into clearer focus. BTW, your new layout is awesome!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Cockman Photography
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 02:47:00

    Awww! Thanks Julie, you’re such an inspiration!…I’m so glad that link can be beneficial to so many people! It’s amazing how much work goes into one shoot, and also how much joy you-as the photographer-get out of it. Hope you have a blessed weekend, keep on blogging, lots of out here in the blog world are reading and praying for you each day as you do what you love!

    God bless you, sister!

  2. Sue
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 10:05:00

    Very interesting and thought provoking article. Thanks for sharing.

  3. JRP
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 20:40:00

    🙂 I know you want them to be afforadable but I want your business to thrive too.

    I guess it comes down to finding the equal balance we can live with, right? I’m sure you will figure it all out one day soon and also realize how talented and determined you are!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

