Experimenting with texture (more added)

I just thought I would share a photo that I did using a texture that I found on Flickr. Flickr has thousands of free textures for download. I haven’t even seen all the textures available. When you get to flickr, just type in free textures and start browsing. Anyway, so I found this photo in my August files and decided to see what I could do with it. I coverted it to black and white using the Gradient Map and then adjusted the curves to give the photo a little more contrast. Then I applied this texture over it and adjusted the opacity a bit. I also used the eraser tool to take away a little of the texture over her face, as I didn’t want her face to be completely covered.

Textured words used from Peppermint Creative

Textured words used from Peppermint Creative

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie McLeod
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 09:20:16

    Very nice! My favorite is the one with the musical texture and the sweet little grin.

  2. Vinnie
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 10:35:01

    Isn’t it fun to play! I’m really liking the musical texture and the old style.

  3. JRP
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 19:48:41

    Julie these are stunning shots of Emmalie. When she grows up I know that she is going to treasure all of the wonderfully amazing shots you took of her through her life. I hope they are all burned on CDs safely!

    The textures you found are just wonderful. I think I’m a texture addict. I hope it never goes out of style!

    The 3rd photo is so neat and the music notes are wonderful! You’ll have to use that one w/ Bri as well since she loves to sing. 🙂

  4. Anna
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 21:34:29

    I love playing with textures! I am pretty sure the 3rd and 6th one would have to be printed BIG and hung in my house if that were my little one. Beautiful stuff!

  5. suehenryphotography
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 10:20:59

    Some how I missed this post. You KNOW what a texture freak I am. This series is especially awesome. Like many of the others, I love the music texture — but all are terrific.

Leave a Reply

