Blue Thursday

The title seems appropriate considering the blue backdrop, don’t you think? Yesterday was a “mini-Christmas” for me. I ordered a UV filter for my 50mm, and it came. Then I ordered Aqua blue seamless paper to add to my tan and pink backdrops. I think this blue is going to work great. I have to figure out how to avoid the blue cast. My studio lights are starting to become too bright for some reason, even though they are in the same spot as they have been. I’m not sure. I also ordered a gray card to set my white balance, which is what I used on every portrait posted here and I ordered a soft white/gold reflector. Love what the reflector did for these images. Wow what a difference in lifting the shadows in her eyes.

soft white side of reflector, no flash 50mm

soft white side of reflector, no flash 50mm

 

gold side of reflector, no flash

gold side of reflector, no flash

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Rinaldi Photography
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 13:27:33

    Oh Julie! I love her. I really can’t wait to get back and see you guys again. I love the blue paper and I love her wonderful expressions. Her eyes look amazing and the reflector really helped!

    Will you bring that little angel for modeling already??!! LOL 🙂

  2. colblue
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 07:25:28

    You got great skin tones using the gold side of the reflector. Spot on!! Good to see E is back to her modeling best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

