Personal Portraits

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on natural light photography. The people that I’ve found through just generic searches don’t use any flash. I don’t know that I would be able to completely do away with my flash…but it’s a good goal. I think another thing that ensures sharp, crisp pictures without flash (for indoor photos) is a good fast lens. I’m looking at purchasing a 20mm 2.8 lens soon. I’ve also seen people using a 1.2 lens. I’ve been looking at B&H getting prices for those lenses.  Those images are amazing as that 1.2 allows alot of light in.

I took some of my oldest after a haircut she got…she looked so cute. The others are of my little one using only available light.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oneshotbeyond
    May 23, 2009 @ 18:42:21

    Your girls are so darling looking and sweet to let you take so many beautiful photographs of them!

    Good luck with any lens you choose next

  2. JRP
    May 25, 2009 @ 04:43:18

    these came out great julie – wonderful light.
    I can’t believe that last one with just the light from your bedroom windows and the lamp – super bright and sharp.

  3. suehenryphotography
    May 25, 2009 @ 21:23:59

    Oooooo….you’ll have to keep us informed on what lens you decide to add. Nice series — the last image of E is my fav!

  4. Emily Tebbetts Photography
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 11:21:38

    hi, I just stumbled upon this post, beautiful pictures!

    I shoot in all natural light, and I wouldnt recommend a 1.2 lens. First off, they are way too expensive when a cheap 50mm 1.8 or relatively cheap ($250) 35mm 1.8 lens do just as well comparatively.

    let me explain- at 1.8, the DOF is already very VERY shallow. I do love my 50mm and especially 35mm 1.8’s, but Ive had a ton of shots that I had to throw away because the focus was just barely off– for example, focused on the nose and not the eyes.

    You really dont even need the 1.8 that often, and its usually sharpest around 2.8 anyway. I often shoot with low apertures because I like shallow DOF, not because of lack of available light– especially outdoors, though sometimes 1.8 is extremely useful (indoors with only sunlight coming through, portraits when the sun is low, etc).

    Right now my two favorite lenses are my Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 (expensive at $450ish, but very sharp, great bokeh and range, and well worth it) and my Nikkor 35mm 1.8 (Right now, its hard to find because its sold out most places. I got mine on Ebay for a total of $240, shipping included. I highly recommend Ebay, Ive gotten almost everything I have from there and Ive never had a problem with it).

    These are really a super pair- lots of range with a fairly low fstop on the tamron, and a sturdy, smooth, and sharp 1.8 prime with the nikkor.

    Also, just a note- the 35mm 1.8 has a really close focusing range. I dont know the specific distance, but it can get much closer than the 50mm 1.8 and all of my other lenses. I love it 🙂

    You can look at my deviantart for a bunch of my work at o–tebem–o.deviantart.com, but a lot of people find that site confusing if they dont use it, so you can also view a smaller sample of my work at emilytebbetts.carbonmade.com 🙂

    I hope this was helpful!
    Emily

Leave a Reply

