Testing new Reflector 5-in-one

I went to my local camera store yesterday evening and bought a 41 inch reflector. It has white,gold,silver,sunkissed?, and transluscent. I really wanted this for a couple of reasons. The main reason is because I’ll be shooting some wedding portraits next weekend at or around noon. I needed something that would block the harsh overhead sun, yet allow some light through. The second reason I wanted to get this bigger one is because while I had a reflector already, it just wasn’t big enough. It seriously would only shade a clients face. It really was only useful for reflecting light into the face only. I couldn’t believe how big this thing is.

I took my camera and the reflector to my sisters house to test out my new toy. Her daughter and friend were more than willing to help me out. When I took the first image I was blown away! I sat them in full sun, I mean, that sun was blazing in their faces. Then I asked my niece to sit in the shade and had her friend hold the reflector using the sunkissed side. I’ll have to practice a little more using those.

Using sunkissed reflector

Using sunkissed reflector

Using the translucent part of the reflector

Using the translucent part of the reflector

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oneshotbeyond
    May 30, 2009 @ 20:59:53

    good work with the reflector Julie. They can be tricky, but once you get the hang of it they are a useful tool. The make for some wonderful catch lights in the eyes too!

  2. oneshotbeyond
    May 30, 2009 @ 21:00:14

    Oh…new blog design is really nice too!

  3. Julie
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 11:37:05

    I learned something new! I may have heard about using reflectors to shade the subject but never really got it until now. Thanks for explaining that and for showing these great examples. Beautiful girls and beautiful shots.

Leave a Reply

