Testing new lens

Now I’m not buying this lens…just renting for the wedding on Saturday. It’s a church that doesn’t allow flash photography so I wanted to make sure that I had the best lens possible for that type of setting. I went to BorrowedLenses.com to rent the Tamron 70-200mm 2.8 lens. This lens is a monster lens. I had no idea that the lens was so massive. I’m not sure, and I have an email out but the lens won’t autofocus. Of course it’s supposed to. I just wonder if my Nikon D90 isn’t the right “make” (for lack of a better word) and therefore won’t support the autofocus feature. I hope the it does and the solution is simple because I’m not sure I can trust my eyes for tack sharp photos. You’ll also notice in the images I took that the sharpness in some areas are spotty.  I wonder if anyone knows if this is normal. I am waiting on an e-mail back from borrowed lenses.

 

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vu
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 13:53:17

    Nice pics!

  2. JRP
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 22:40:02

    Well I will say that the DOF that lens gets is fantastical! No wonder people always have those amazing dof’s in the weddings & portraits shots that I don’t always get with my lenses.

    The next thing on my lens i that 2.8 Nikon lens I’ve been dreaming about for so long…

    The pink flowers have such an interesting focus area.

    I dont know much about the lens auto focusing…i know some do and some dont with other brand cameras. sigma and tamrons work w/ nikons but im not sure about the focus. did you ask on the forum too?

  3. Enigma3
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 10:34:47

    Julie,

    The photos you show here look pretty normal and good for a third party 70-200 lens. I can help you with questions about this lens and using it for weddings. Check your E-mail.

Leave a Reply

