Nikkor 35mm 1.8 lens and New backdrop/Indiana Photographer

I love my nifty fifty (50mm 1.4) lens. I love how sharp the photos comes out. I have to admit though, that sometimes I just can’t get back far enough or fast enough to get the subject in the frame. I saw awhile back ago that Nikon came out with the 35mm 1.8 lens. I read the reviews and waited and waited. I finally decided to go for it. I finally got it yesterday and put it to the test. A lot of the reviews mentioned slow focus, and I did find that too. However, it really isn’t that slow. Focusing is smooth and quiet. Images look nice and sharp. In the studio setting it worked nicely too. Anyone who has been to my basement will tell you how tight it is. When I use my 50mm in there, even backed up to the wall I’m not able to get the entire subject in the frame. When using the 35mm, I was able to get the entire subject in the frame with room to spare. 🙂 

Hobby Lobby and I are fastly becoming tight friends. LOL!  I’ve purchased all my recent backdrops from there and love how I can always find a sale. Yesterday, my little one and I went there to find yet another backdrop. While I was there I think I found another item that I will be on the lookout for to add to my props. Tri-Fold Dressing screens. They have a very nice selection. We also bought a straw hat and flowers and made a cute little hat for a prop. 

Anyway, I’ve chatted long enough, so on to the pictures. 

 

I love the old time look of this

 

  

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just a girl
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 02:18:33

    she really is the best little subject ever. the 35 sounds like it’s doing you well! i may have to think over the purchase!!

  2. Jen Rinaldi Photography
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 02:18:53

    she really is the best little subject ever. the 35 sounds like it’s doing you well! i may have to think over the purchase!!

  3. meleah rebeccah
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 20:32:52

    OMG! The second photo really does have an old time look, and a little southern-ish! Terrific!

Leave a Reply

